Akira Yamaoka First US Show Interview: Joe Romersa

Joe the Drummer. That what Joe Romersa calls himself, but he’s a lot more than that. He’s a composer, songwriter, lyricist, multi instrumentalist, voice actor, dubbing director, sound engineer and a hell of a nice guy! For those of you that missed it, back in September, Akira Yamaoka debuted his Silent Hill band live in the US. Their first live shows in the US were in the Phoenix, Az area at a little convention called SabotenCon. Alongside frequent collaborators, Mary Elizabeth McGlynn, Troy Baker and Yamaoka-san himself, was Joe Romersa hot on the drums. He gave a performance that would make John Bonham happy. We chat with Joe in the smoking section about his career in video game music and how he got to know and work with the legendary Akira Yamaoka on games including Konami’s Silent Hill (series), Shadows of the DAMNED and more.

Listen to the Joe Romersa interview here…

Joe Romersa’s Video Game Credits (Thanks in part to Anime News Network)

  • ADR dialogue tracking/editing for “Omega Boost
  • ADR director for “Ace Combat 5: The Unsung War
  • Digital tracker for “Bushido Blade 2
  • Digital tracking for “Ghost in the Shell
  • English ADR director for “Galerians:Ash
  • English ADR director for “Nano Breaker
  • English dialogue director for “Firefighter F.D.18
  • English voice direction for “Brave Fencer Musashi
  • English voice director for “Breakdown
  • English voice director for “Front Mission 4
  • English voice recording engineer for “Brave Fencer Musashi
  • Lyrics for “Ace Combat 5: The Unsung War
  • Lyrics for “Karaoke Revolution Volume 3
  • Lyrics for “Silent Hill 3
  • Lyrics for “Silent Hill 4: The Room
  • Lyrics for “Shadows of the DAMNED
  • Music supervisor for “Silent Hill 3
  • Music supervisor for “Silent Hill 4: The Room
  • Vocalist for “Silent Hill 3
  • Vocalist for “Silent Hill 4: The Room
  • Voice of Ben in “Brave Fencer Musashi
  • Voice of Ursus in “Star Ocean: Till the End of Time

Listen to Hometown from the Silent Hill 3, which he wrote the lyrics and sang on…

Joe Romersa is still churning out music besides Silent Hill’s. Between writing and performing video game music as requested, he also has his own band called Soy Cowboy. It started as a Thai-Western band here, but in it’s current form, it’s a Western-Chinese fusion band and they’ve made a new album called 2012.

Listen to the single Facebook Friend by Soy Cowboy fresh of the new album…

Joe Romersa studio website, Shadow Box Studio
Interview recorded at Saboten Con 2012.

Leave a Reply