Konami announces Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection

Metal Gear Solid The Legacy Collection 1

Just incase you haven’t had your fill of collections, Konami is back with another one. Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection aims to be much more comprehensive than your typical budget collection as it includes almost every Metal Gear game to date. Hideo Kojima also tweeted images of promotional materials which show how series protagonist Snake has changed over the years.

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection will include…

  • Metal Gear (MSX version)
  • Metal Gear 2 (MSX version)
  • Metal Gear Solid
  • Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: HD Edition
  • Metal Gear Solid 3: HD Edition
  • Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker HD Edition
  • Metal Gear Solid 4: Trophy Edition
  • two Ashley Wood digital graphic novels

So basically, almost every canonical Metal Gear game. What’s missing? The only canon game missing is Portable Ops, originally released on the PSP. Additionally, all of the non-canon games like Acid! (PSP), Metal Gear Solid: Ghost Babel (Gameboy), and Snake’s Revenge (NES) are not included in the Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection.

Metal Gear Solid The Legacy Collection 2

It is unknown what, if any, restoration Metal Gear Solid and VR Missions will get since both titles are from the late 90s, originally released on the Sony Playstation. MGS2, MGS3 and Peace Walker were released last year, remastered with HD graphics.

MGS Legacy Collection

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection doesn’t have an official release date yet although Konami hints at a June 2013 release. Furthermore, evidence suggests that the title will only be released for the Playstation 3. This has not been officially confirmed although it is possible it may see release on the Xbox 360 in the US only, similar to how Metal Gear Rising didn’t get released on the 360 in Japan.

Metal Gear Solid official Facebook announcement


Leave a Reply